
QUESTION ANSWER - 2025 Updates are in RED         Updated 09/09/2024 
How can I be assured I have the most 
current updated rules, requirements, and 
regula9ons? 

The cover will be red, white and blue this season and a PDF is available on the NGA 
web site. Thank you! 

VAULT  

Are the two (2) individual VT scores 
combined to give the final VT score? 

No—All levels, all athletes are allowed to perform two (2) vaults. Each vault is scored 
independently from the other. The beNer scored vault is the one that is the official 
score for that athlete on VT. 

Is there a deduc9on for contac9ng the 
vault board with staggered feet? 

No—There is no deduc9on for an athlete that contacts the vault board for a vault or a 
mount with staggered feet. 
 

How is the mat stack measured? 
 

Mat stack height is measured from the bare floor (including base mat) to the top of 
the mat being measured. 
 

Are 10N athletes allowed one (1) vault, like 
NCAA rules, or two (2) vault aNempts? 

10N athletes are awarded two (2) aNempts on vault. 
 
 

What if my 3N, 4N, 6N, or 7N athlete 
aNempts a vault and lands back on the 
table or the mat/stack? 

Athlete would receive a Courtesy Score of 5.0 = 3N, 4N, 6N, 7N vault that achieves 
hand support, lands/falls on top of table/mat stack (does not return to board).  
 
 

Can a VOID vault receive a 5.0 courtesy 
score? 

Yes, If the athlete performs a vault considered VOID for any given level, the athlete 
may be awarded a 5.0 courtesy score. 

Is there an angle of repulsion deduc9on 
for 8N-10N vault? 

Yes, but this only applies to non-Salto vaults. NO. This deducDon has been 
eliminated. 
 

Is a pit pillow allowed as an addi9onal 
landing surface for level 6N and 7N vault? 

Yes 
 
 



DefiniDon of ‘Failure to Land on BoNom 
of Feet first deducDon’. 

Fail to land on boNom of feet first examples include: landing on hands and knees 
simultaneously, landing on buNocks (without feet first for both scenarios).  Not 
applicable to 5N, 6N, or 7N vaults performed with swoop through and miss feet to 
land on back technique. 

UNEVEN BARS  

Are there deduc9ons for extra Tap Swings? 
 
 
 
 
 

1N-GN—Any number of Tap Swings are allowed, X-skill X—203—May receive VP 
twice—No penalty for more than 2 other than basic execu9on deduc9ons. 
5N—May perform (1) Tap Swing w/o penalty—Will not receive ‘A’ VP—More than (1) 
tap swing, apply flat 0.3 deduc9on (MAX .50 per occurrence). 
6N—May perform a Tap Swing w/o penalty only if it follows a Long Hang Pullover—
May only do (1)—does not receive ‘A’ VP—Addi9onal tap swings receive flat 0.3 
deduc9on each 9me. 
PN—May perform (1) Tap Swing w/o penalty—Will not receive ‘A’ VP—Addi9onal tap 
swings receive flat 0.3 deduc9on each 9me (MAX .50 per occurrence). 
6N/7N-10N—Tap Swings are not allowable in any case and receive a flat 0.3 
deduc9on each 9me (MAX .50 per occurrence) 

Is a release drop down in the back of a tap 
swing considered a dismount? Is a .50 
deducDon taken for a fall? YES 

No—Not considered an ‘A’ dismount—Is not an X-skill. Deduct -0.50 for missing SR 
and deduct -0.30 for no dismount. However, if the athlete remounts and performs a 
level-recognized dismount, only deduct -0.50 for the fall. 

What counts as a ‘circling skill’ on bars? 
 
 

UB—Circle skill—Any X-skill or Table of Element skill where hands travel around the 
bar 360º—If SR specifies a specific type of circling skill (In-bar or ‘B’ value), must use 
a skill that fits the requirement—If not specified, any circle skill filng within the 
requirements for that level is acceptable. 

The athlete performs squat on bar 
dismount and jumps down on the wrong 
side. What is the deduc9on? 

Considered a fall, however since at least 1/2 of the skill was completed, would 
receive SR dismount credit. 
 

GN athlete aNempts SR 1 
(squat/straddle/stoop on jump to HB) and 
falls backward. She remounts the LB and 
squats on (or puts one foot on at a Dme 

YES. The athlete will NOT receive the SR if the coach places her directly on the HB. 
They have not performed the JUMP to HB. 



and jumps to HB). Does she receive the 
SR? 

Can a Pike / Tuck Sole circle around the bar 
fulfill the UB Special Requirement (SR): 
“360º In Bar Circle”? 
 

No / Yes—No: A feet-to-feet In-bar (360º) circle does not meet the requirement for 
the “360 In-Bar Circle” that must finish in clear support at any angle (unless 
otherwise stated). Yes: Does not require a clear support finish, therefore may use the 
feet-to-feet In-bar (360º) circle to fulfill the SR. 
 

"May perform one (1) tap swing w/o 
penalty provided it follows a long hang 
pullover to undershoot”. Can the athlete 
place a BWD Hip Circle before U-swing? 
 

Yes—MINIMUM requirement is arer a long hang pullover, there needs to be an 
Underswing. Adding a BWD hip circle in-between is acceptable and will receive no 
direct deduc9on. 
 

Can DN athletes use UB ‘B’ dismount to 
fulfill SR #3 “Addi9onal ‘B’ VP”? 

No—SR #3 and SR #4 cannot be fulfilled by the same ‘B’ Element/VP/Skill. The ‘B’ 
Element/VP/Skill may be within the rou9ne or may be a mount, but may not be the 
dismount 
 

Is an extra swing penalty applied for 
performing FWD swing ½ turn, FWD swing 
(towards LB), BWD swing to FWD flyaway? 

No—NGA allows a swing ½ turn plus an additional swing prior to FWD flyaway 
dismount to be performed w/o penalty at all levels except 8N, 9N, 10N. Swing will 
not receive VP, and is subject to execution deductions. 
 

What deducDon is given for an extra 
swing/cast performed at levels 5N 
through 10N? 
 
 
 
 

Clarification: 5N, 6N, PN there will be a ↑0.10 Poor rhythm in elements/connections. 
Do NOT deduct .30 for an extra swing but deduct a full 0.10 for poor rhythm 
between the elements. Example: 
Cast—BWD Hip circle to front support—Recast—Squat on bar. Recast = -0.10 Rhythm 
deduc9on. Extra swings and addi9onal casts are .30 each. Max .50 per occurrence 
each 9me. An extra swing/cast is .30 deducDon each Dme. Max .50 per occurrence 
for these levels. 
 
 



X skill #103 glide swing (or run out glide) 
pullover-When does board or moun9ng 
apparatus need to be removed? 
 
 
 

The board or mounting apparatus must be removed immediately upon feet leaving 
this surface for levels 5N and above; the Athlete may NOT return to contact the 
board again. Failure to remove the board = CJ -0.30 is applied if the gymnast returns 
and contacts the board (because it was not removed). Athletes in levels 1N-GN may 
return to the surface they mounted from following a glide swing and perform a 
pullover from the mounting block/board. The mounting apparatus must then be 
removed IMMEDIATELY following the pullover. 
 

What is the deduc9on for an athlete 
“double jumping” on the moun9ng 
apparatus prior to moun9ng element? 

Each judge deducts for Rhythm -0.10. Do not deduct -0.50 for a fall. 
 
 
 

How many skills are performed for the 
following 2N rou9ne: Pullover—Cast—
BWD Hip Circle—Underswing dismount? 
 

Sequence: Pullover—Cast—BWD Hip Circle—Underswing dismount = Four (4) 
elements / VP / skills. 2N athlete = 9.90 SV (missing one (1) ‘A’/X-skill). By adding a 
cast after BWD Hip circle and before dismount = 10 SV. 
 
 

How many skills for a 3N if athlete 
performs: Pullover—Cast—BWD Hip 
Circle—Squat on—Jump off dismount? 

Sequence: Pullover—Cast—BWD Hip Circle—Squat on—Jump off dismount = Five (5) 
elements / VP / skills = 10 SV. 
 
 
 

Does a tap swing 1/2 turn dismount ALSO 
fulfill the SR #3 4N? 

Performing a tap swing, 1/2 turn dismount DOES NOT fulfill SR #3: Tap Swing. One 
skill may not fulfill more than one SR. An addi9onal tap swing must be performed to 
fulfill SR #3. 
 

What is a glide varia9on? 
 
 
 

A glide varia9on is any VP listed in the technical handbook that begins with a swing 
under the bar before finishing the skill with shoulders over the bar in some way. 
Example, run out glide or glide single leg shoot through. Please note that PN may 
NOT use the run-out glide version to fulfill SR #1. 
 



BALANCE BEAM  
3N—3/4 handstand receives ‘A’ VP, 
therefore does it fulfill the Acro Special 
Requirement (SR)? 
 
 
 
 

No—Partial HS does not fulfill the SR even if it is eligible to receive VP. 
If a Special Requirement (SR) is stated without the words ‘Minimum’ (MIN) or 
‘Maximum’ (MAX), then requirement needs to be fulfilled EXACTLY as written. 
If an athlete performs a HS to fulfill the Acro Special Requirement (SR), the HS MUST 
mark vertical with legs together (no hold requirement). 
 
 

When is a handstand an ‘A’ VP? 
 
 
 
 

BM—Handstand—To receive ‘A’ VP, handstand must be held 2 seconds (unless 
specific exception is listed on X-skill chart)—1N-3N receive ‘A’ VP for an X-skill 
handstand—3N is specific: Legs must be joined at vertical. 4N/GN may use X skills to 
receive ‘A’ VP for achieving vertical (no hold required). 
—Leg posi9on is op9onal unless specified on skill charts. 
 
 

Please clarify PN beam: 
 
Acro SR— Two (2) Acro Non-Flight skills, 
one (1) must pass thru VER – isolated or in 
a series 
OR one (1) ‘B’ Acro VP 
 
 
 
 

NOTE: If athlete chooses an Acro Series by connecting (2) same skills, skills must be 
given connection credit to get VP for both skills—If athlete misses the connection, 
but 1st or 2nd skill is connected to another element, they WILL receive credit for 
both skills. 
Example: Athlete executes BWO—STOPS—BWO, 2nd BWO receives no credit—If 
athlete connects 2nd BWO to Stretch jump, credit for both BWOs are awarded VP. 
 
NOTE: In a routine where two (2) BWO have already received credit, a 3rd attempted 
BWO would not receive VP. 

  
Please define a “Series” on BM. 
 
 
 
 

Series = Direct connec9on of two (2) + Elements/VP/Skills. 1)—ENDING of one skill 
must be the START of the next skill. Reasons for NOT credi9ng a “Series”: Stop in-
between, including fall or loss of balance between any skills; Legs land in plie (w/o 
moving feet from original footprint), then straighten, then re-plie to take off; Step, 
pivo9ng of foot in-between. 



 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

What is the deduc9on for an athlete 
“double jumping” on the moun9ng 
apparatus prior to moun9ng element? 

Each judge deducts for Rhythm -0.10. Do not deduct -0.50 for a fall. 
 
 
 

 
Clarifica9on on BM Series SR. 
 
 

Beam series is awarded regardless of the number of aNempts. SR credit if foot 
touches the BM on 2nd skill EVEN with a fall. If either of the two (2) skills is a Ø VP, SR 
can s9ll be awarded. 
 
 
 

Is a shoulder roll (extending the hips at 
VERTICAL) on beam considered a skill that 
goes through ver9cal? 

A shoulder roll can poten9ally go through ver9cal if there is a ver9cal line from 
shoulders to hips as the hips go over the head. In the event a level specifies the 
ver9cal skill must have hand support, a shoulder roll would not fulfill that 
requirement. 
 

Do 4N and GN receive ‘A’ VP and SR for a 
handstand that achieves verDcal but does 
not hold? 

 
Yes, X skills are now allowable through the Gold level for the 2025 season. X skills 
may fulfill SRs, unless specified otherwise. 
 
 

FLOOR EXERCISE  

Can a back or front handspring fulfill the 
bridging requirement? 
 
 

No—Handspring, front or back, performed technically correctly does not show a 
bridging posi9on, showing at least one (1) hand and one (1) foot on the ground 
simultaneously. A bridging element is considered a non-flight. Furthermore, a 
bridging element must be an X-skill or ‘A’ VP. 
 



 

Can two (2) of the same skill fulfill the 
dance passage requirement? 
 
 
 
 

Yes—Athlete may perform two (2) of the same jump or leaps to fulfill the dance 
passage, if directly connected. However, if athlete attempts to connect indirectly, at 
least one of the two (2) skills must be directly connected to another element 
performed before the 1st skill or after the 2nd skill. (Acro skill between two (2) dance 
skills breaks a direct OR indirect connection). This follows the “Same Skill rule—To 
receive VP two (2) times if they are in a different connection. 
Example—Athlete performs two (2) split jumps: BHS-Split jump, Chassé, Assemblé to 
two feet, Split jump. 
Rule—Connecting 1st Split jump to a BHS makes it different from the isolated 2nd 
Split jump after the Chassé. Therefore, both Split jumps would receive VP. 
 

If SR is 1/2 (180º) turn on 1-foot, can a 1/1 
(360º) turn fulfill the SR and get credit? 

Yes—Only if requirement includes, MINIMUM (Min) is the athlete allowed to go 
beyond the requirement. If requirement states “1/2 (180º) turn” then only a 1/2 turn 
can fulfill the requirement. 

3N Acro skill contains/passes thru 
bridge posi9on, can athlete lay down, push 
up to a bridge and lay back down? 

No—If an athlete pushes to a bridge, they must kick over to complete the ‘A’ VP X-
skill, X-501. 
 
 

Is a stretch jump an ‘A’ VP on floor? 
 

No—Stretch jump is not an X-skill or a Table of Elements ‘A’ jump on FX. It IS, 
however, an ‘A’ VP on BM, Table of Elements ‘A—205c’ 
 

Does an Acro skill between two (2) dance 
elements break an indirect connec9on? 

Yes—Indirect connec9ons are con9nuous movement from one dance skill to the next, 
includes running, Chassé, or other dance type movement on feet that is con9nuous, 
stopping only to perform the 2nd skill. 
 

Can RO rebound, BWD/FWD roll count as 
1N-3N Acro requirement? 

Yes—RO rebound connected to any “roll” (excluding candles9ck) fulfills this 
requirement. 
 



SR notes Acro ‘Pass’ or ‘Series’ - does that 
mean the skills must be directly 
connected? 

Yes— ‘Pass’ and ‘Series’ imply ‘Direct’ connec9on—Assume ‘Direct’ unless specifically 
stated an ‘Indirect’ connec9on is acceptable. 
 
 

Can a Dive or Hecht roll be used to fulfill a 
FX Special Requirement (SR)? 

No— Dive / Hecht rolls may only be used for the respec9ve VPs of ‘A’, ‘B’ and may 
NOT be used to fulfill any Special Requirement (SR) that requires flight. 
 

Can 7N - 10N athlete perform a leap/jump 
dance combo on FX with an addi9onal ‘B’ 
and have it count for two SRs, SR 1 and SR 
3? 

No—If the SR Leap/Jump Dance Passage contains only 2 skills, one of which is a ‘B” 
skill / element / VP, the athlete must perform an addi9onal ‘B’ skill / element (which 
may NOT be within the SR 1 Dance Combo) to fulfill the SR “Min ‘B’ VP”. One ‘B’ may 
NOT fulfill two (2) SRs. For example, an athlete does a switch leap then a straddle 
jump for a dance passage. Because the dance passage has to have a minimum of 2 
skills, neither of those skills can count as the addi9onal ‘B’ However, if the athlete 
does a switch leap then a straddle jump connected to a 3rd jump, the 3rd skill (as 
long as it is a value part) can allow the ‘B’ VP to count as the separate Special 
Requirement for the addi9onal ‘B’ dance skill. The addiDonal ‘B’ may NOT be part of 
the dance passage. It must be an isolated skill or part of a DIFFERENT connecDon. 

What does SR #3: “Addi9onal ‘B’ VP”—Not 
part of SR #1” specifically refer to? 
 

SR #1: Dance Combo requires a minimum of two (2) skills to be considered a Dance 
Passage. If it contains ONLY two (2) skills and one (1) is a ‘B’ VP, it cannot be used to 
fulfill SR #3. The addi9onal ‘B’ may NOT be part of the dance passage. It must be an 
isolated skill or part of a DIFFERENT connec9on. 
 

Is a DIVE CARTWHEEL a flight skill? Yes 
 

Is an AERIAL considered a flight skill? An aerial can fulfill a flight if it is allowable at that level and does not state otherwise. 
An aerial may NOT fulfill a Salto requirement unless specifically stated. 

ALL  

If a skill / element illustra9on does not 
display the skill the athlete did perform, 
what credit / no credit does she receive? 

If an athlete performs a skill, such as a straight jump off the SIDE of the beam, they 
will receive credit for this dismount as it is a root skill of the one listed, BM: X—902 
Straight jump off END of BB. ALWAYS judge and reward to the benefit of the athlete. 
 



 

Can an Element/VP/Skill receive credit 
more than once? 
 

Yes—Repeated element must occur in 1) a different connec9on (one 9me, isolated, 
another in connec9on), 2) will receive credit twice if repeated Element/VP/Skill is 
performed in two (2) connec9ons and preceded/followed by a different 
Element/VP/Skill—preceded/followed Element/VP/Skill does not have to receive 
credit. 

Can skills receive VP twice if isolated? 

NO—One skill may be isolated, and the other aNempt of the same skill must have a 
different entry or exit. For example, on 7N FX an athlete performs a dance combo: 
switch leap, chasse, straddle jump. Later she aNempts to fulfill SR 3 (addiDonal MIN 
B dance) and performs a straddle jump. The SR is NOT fulfilled. The 2nd straddle 
jump receives 0 value due to repeaDng an element w/o a different exit of entry. 

Can GN use X-skills to fulfill 
requirements? 

NO—Only levels 1N, 2N/BN, 3N (UB, BM, FX) may use X-skills. As the only excep9on, 
Level 4N, GN may use UB X-skills.  YES, unless specified otherwise. 

When does a splilng jump/leap receive 
SR and VP credit? 
 
 
 
 

Splilng jumps/leaps will receive credit if they are within 45 degrees of the listed 
requirement. An up to 0.20 deduc9on will apply to split jumps within 45 degrees but 
not achieving or exceeding listed requirement. Please note if the athlete is using a 
split jump on beam for "B" VP, the expected degree of split is 180. If the split is within 
45 degrees of the 180 (135 degrees) the split will receive B VP, if eligible. For any level 
that requires a ‘B’ VP but has less than 180 degrees for their split requirement, the 
athlete can achieve their SR without being awarded a ‘B’ VP if the split is less than 
135 degrees. For example, PN split requirement on beam is 150 degrees. An athlete 
could do a 105 degree split jump and receive their SR. However, this would not meet 
the requirement for a ‘B’ VP. Therefore, the athlete would need an alterna9ve ‘B’ VP 
to receive the ‘B’ VP requirement 

When will a judge not award credit for an 
athlete comple9ng more than 1/2 a VP 
without a spot? 
 
 

Any skill that has a specified degree of comple9on requirement (or a specific general 
rule) is not subject to the general rule sta9ng an athlete can be awarded the skill if 
more than 1/2 is completed without spot. Since there is a specific rule sta9ng when 
splilng elements will be rewarded, the specific rule applies to the skill. This also 
applies to release moves on bars and Acro skills on beam where a specific body part 
must touch the apparatus to be awarded credit. Please see event clarifica9ons for 
more informa9on. 



What if an athlete performs a skill in a way 
that gives it a higher value than is allowed 
at a par9cular level? For example, what if 
a 4N/GN/5N athlete performs a cast to 
handstand? 
 

If an athlete goes above the expecta9on for their specific level on a skill that can have 
different values based on amplitude, the athlete should not be penalized. For 
example, if a 4N/GN/5N athlete performs a cast handstand on bars, they should be 
awarded an “A” VP and not be deducted for doing something unallowable or 
restricted. 
 

Can one element fulfill more than one (1) 
Special Requirement, unless specified? 

The ONLY levels allowable: 9N and 10N. 
 
 

Do Acro splilng elements have an 
insufficient split deduc9on? 
 

Yes, Acro NON-FLIGHT splilng elements (such as walkovers) have an up to 0.20 
deduc9on for insufficient split based on the degree of split required for splilng 
jumps/leaps at their respec9ve levels. For example, a 4N performing a back walkover 
would need a minimum of 90 degree split to receive no deduc9on for insufficient 
split. 

Definition of "failure to land on 
bottom of feet" 

Fail to land on boNom of feet first examples include: landing on hands and knees 
simultaneously, landing on buNocks without feet first.   

 


